How To Watch Lord Of The Rings In Order

If you’re a fan of epic fantasy adventures and captivating storytelling, then you’ve likely heard of the legendary franchise, Lord of the Rings. This iconic series, created by J.R.R. Tolkien, has captured the hearts and imaginations of millions of suckers around the world. With multiple movies and now a new Amazon series on the horizon, you might be wondering how to watch Lord of the Rings in order? We’ll explore both the chronological and release order options so that you can have all of the movie options at your fingertips.

What is the Lord of the Rings about?  

What Is Lord Of The Rings About

Before we dive into the viewing order, let’s explore what Lord of the Rings is about. First off, each movie stems from the fantasy novels written by J.R.R. Tolkien. There are three main volumes: The Fellowship of the Ring, The Two Towers, and The Return of the King. The story takes place in the fictional world of Middle Earth and follows several colorful characters, including Frodo Baggins, Gandalf the Grey, and Aragorn, as they battle against the forces of evil and seek to destroy the One Ring.  

Understanding the chronological order  

When it comes to watching Lord of the Rings in chronological order, it’s essential to understand the timeline of events within Middle Earth. The events in the series gauge thousands of years, so watching the movies in chronological order allows you to witness the story as it unfolds from the earliest events to the most recent.

How to watch Lord of the Rings online

Luckily, the Lord of the Rings trilogy is available on both Max and Prime Video. On Prime, you will have to rent each movie whereas your Max subscription will include each film. As we mentioned previously, there is also a new show that came out on Prime Video called The Rings of Power. Season one is included with a Prime membership.

How to watch Lord of the Rings in order  

How To Watch Lord Of The Rings

When looking at how to watch Lord of the Rings in order, you should start with The Hobbit trio, which serves as a prequel to the main Lord of the Rings plot. This trio consists of three pictures: The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey, The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug, and The Hobbit: The Battle of the Five Armies. These flicks follow the adventures of Bilbo Baggins, a hobbit, and his involvement in the hunt to reclaim the lost dwarf area of Erebor.  

After completing The Hobbit trio, you can move on to The Lord of the Rings trio, which includes The Fellowship of the Ring, The Two Towers, and The Return of the King. These movies follow up The Hobbit with the grand trip of Frodo Baggins and the Fellowship as they embark on a dangerous hunt to destroy the One Ring and save Middle Earth from the clutches of the Dark Lord Sauron.  

How to watch Lord of the Rings by release date

How To Watch Lord Of The Rings In Order

If you’d rather follow the release order than the chronological order, you can definitely watch each based on the year it was released. This approach allows you to witness the elaboration of the series and understand the impact it had on pop culture at different points in time.  Start your viewing experience with The Fellowship of the Ring, followed by The Two Towers, and conclude with The Return of the King. This release order presents the story as it was intended for audiences when the pictures first hit the big screen.  

CHECK OUT: Netflix Originals to Watch Starting in 2023

Can I watch the new Amazon Lord of the Rings series before watching the original movies?

It’s best to watch the movies first so you have a solid understanding of the Lord of the Rings story. The Amazon series is set in the Alternate Age, preexisting the events of the pictures, so it can be enjoyed as a separate story as well. 

Is it possible to watch the extended editions?

Yes, the extended editions are available and offer an interesting viewing experience. They’re largely recommended for devoted fans who want a further immersive experience. 

Are there any plans for further pictures or spin-offs in the Lord of the Rings?

Other than the new Amazon Prime series, we have not heard of any new movies or spin-offs, but this could change. We’ll have to see if the show will get renewed for a second season as well.

What makes Lord of the Rings such a cherished and influential series?

Lord of the Rings has gathered a cult following for decades due to its masterful plot, complex characters, and dateless themes. It has had a profound impact on fantasy literature, film, and popular culture, setting the standard for grand adventures and leaving a lasting heritage.  


Whether you choose to watch Lord of the Rings in chronological order or by release, you are in for a cinematic adventure. Each viewing order offers a unique perspective on the story, allowing you to immerse yourself in the rich world of Middle Earth. 

The chronological order provides a comprehensive understanding of the events while the release order captures the excitement and expectation that fans endured during the original releases. No matter which order you choose, Lord of the Rings delivers a mesmerizing mix of stirring geographies, memorable characters, and grand battles between good and evil. If interested, be sure to consult our guide to learn how to watch the Lord of the Rings in order. Luckily, Max makes this easy for all fans and new viewers.

ALSO READ: Spider-Man: Across the Spider-Verse Review: A Visually Stunning Sequel

As you embark on your Lord of the Rings journey, prepare to be swept away by the stunning cinematography. From the humble onsets of Bilbo Baggins’ unanticipated adventure to the apocalyptic showdown at Mount Doom, each movie is a masterpiece in its own right, contributing to the overall fame of the saga.